Skip to main content
Migration and Home Affairs
1 July 2024

Visa policy

What is EU visa policy?

Under this key policy, all 27 countries in the Schengen area apply the same visa rules.

Non-EU nationals need a visa to enter the Schengen area for a visit of up to 90 days in any 180-day period.

When someone enters a country in the Schengen area, the 180-day period starts. They can enter Schengen area countries as many times as they want, but only stay for a total of 90 days, every 180 days. 

A Schengen visa is generally valid for every country in the Schengen area.

Visas for stays exceeding 90 days are subject to national procedures.

EU visa policy is monitored and implemented by the European Commission.


What are the main elements of EU visa policy?

Which countries' nationals need a visa to enter the Schengen area?