Skip to main content
Migration and Home Affairs
22 April 2024

Visa policy

What is the European Commission’s role in visa policy implementation?

The common visa policy is a key component of the Schengen Area, with all 27 Schengen States applying the same visa rules. The role of the European Commission is to develop, monitor and implement the EU common visa policy, regulating which non-EU nationals need a visa to enter the Schengen Area for short stays of a maximum of 90 days in any 180-day period. When someone enters the Schengen Area, the 180-day period starts. This means that someone can enter the Schengen Area as many times as they want, but only stay for a total of 90 days, every 180 days. Visas for stays exceeding 90 days remain subject to national procedures. A Schengen visa is generally valid for every state of the Schengen Area.

What are the main elements of EU visa policy?

Which countries' nationals need a visa to enter the Schengen area?