Skip to main content
Migration and Home Affairs

Eurint network

Who we are?


The European Integrated Return Management Initiative (EURINT) was launched in 2011, then four EU Member States namely the Netherlands, Belgium, Germany and Romania. Today, the EURINT Network covers 27 EU Member States and Schengen Associated Countries, and Frontex. The Program is led and managed by the Repatriation and Departure Service of the Netherlands in close coordination with the European Commission and Frontex.

The effective return of irregular migrants is an imperative part of a comprehensive migration policy. This requires action both within the EU and the countries of origin.

What we do?

The Network aims to develop and share European best-practices in the field of return, mainly focusing on non-voluntary return, from the moment of identification to the acquisition of travel documents required for a person to return to his or her country of origin. The EURINT Network implements joint activities that help to realize this objective.

The EURINT network develops a common European approach towards third countries with regard to return cooperation and operational arrangements. Emphasis is on improving the number of actual returns by obtaining a higher number of identity documents for irregular migrants. The EURINT partners can improve their operational cooperation by implementing combined actions in the area of identification and return.
The EURINT Network can assist with capacity building to achieve a sustainable basis for cooperation with the countries of origin. Within this framework, program partners will be able to benefit from each other’s professional networks in the third countries and develop common operational return procedures, adapted to the European Legislative framework.

How are we structured?

The EURINT Program is led and managed by the Repatriation and Departure Service (R&DS), Ministry of Security and Justice of the Netherlands. All decisions regarding the content of the Program are taken in close coordination with the members of the Steering Group. Each EURINT partner (EU/Schengen MS) has one vote during the Steering Group meetings and decisions are made on the basis of a simple majority.

Who is talking part?

Since the adoption of the EU Action Plan on Return (COM/2015/453) the EU-funded networks and programs focusing on return and readmission are aiming towards an integrated system of return management where synergies between the EURINT network, EURLO (European Liaison Officers Network) and ERIN (European Reintegration Network) are regularly being sought in order to ensure the programs work in a mutually reinforcing. The operational coordination of the integrated return management system is led by Frontex.

The Partners of the EURINT Network include the following institutions:
1. Austria (Federal Ministry of the Interior)
2. Belgium (Federal Public Service of the Interior, Immigration Office)
3. Bulgaria (Ministry of Interior)
4. Czech Republic (Ministry of Interior, Department of Asylum and Migration Policy)
5. Denmark (Danish National Police, National Aliens Centre)
6. Estonia (Estonian Police and Border Guard Board)
7. Finland (Helsinki Police)
8. France (Ministry of the Interior, la direction générale des étrangers)
9. Germany: Bundespolizeipräsidium and Central Foreigners Authority Bielefeld
10. Greece (Ministry of Interior, European and Development Programs Division)
11. Hungary (Office of Immigration and Nationality)
12. Italy (Ministry of Interior, Department of Public Security, Central Directorate for Immigration and Border Police)
13. Ireland (The department of Justice and Equality)
14. Latvia (The State Border Guard of the Ministry of Interior)
15. Liechtenstein (Migration and Passport Office National Public Administration)
16. Lithuania (Ministry of Interior, State Border Guard Service)
17. Luxembourg (Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, Directorate of Immigration)
18. Netherlands (Ministry of Security and Justice, Repatriation and Departure Service)
19. Norway (National Police Immigration Service)
20. Poland (Border Guard Headquarters)
21. Portugal (Immigration and Borders Service)
22. Romania (General Inspectorate for Immigration – Ministry of Interior Affairs)
23. Slovenia (Ministry of Interior)
24. Spain (National Police)
25. Sweden (National Swedish Police Authority, National Operations Department)
26. Switzerland (State Secretariat for Migration)
27. United Kingdom (UK Home Office, Immigration Enforcement)
28. Frontex

How we are financed?

The EURINT program is funded by the Asylum, Migration and Integration Fund (AMIF) - Specific Actions - and runs from 31 January 2016 until 31 January 2022.


E-mail: eurintatdtv [dot] minvenj [dot] nl (eurint[at]dtv[dot]minvenj[dot]nl)

arrow-back.png Back to expert groups