Annex 16

Third countries whose nationals or specific categories of such third country nationals who are subject to prior consultation 1

Under Article 22 of the Visa Code, a Member State may require the central authorities of other Member States to consult its central authorities during the examination of visa applications lodged by nationals of specific third countries or specific categories of such nationals.

Such consultation does not apply to applications for airport transit visas.

The table below lists the third countries and the specific categories concerned. When a third country is listed it means that at least one Member State requires such prior consultation.

¹ Version 01.03.2023

Third countries	Specific categories concerned, if applicable
Afghanistan	
Albania ²	
Algeria	
Armenia	
Azerbaijan	
Bangladesh	
Belarus	
Bosnia and Herzegovina ²	
Chad	
D.R. Congo	
Egypt	
Eritrea	
Ethiopia	
Iran	
Iraq	
Jordan	
Kazakhstan	
Kenya	
Kirgizstan	
(North) Korea	
Kosovo ^{2 3}	
Lebanon	
Libya	
Mali	

 $^{^2}$ Nationals of these countries and territories can enter the EU visa-free. Prior consultation is only required if one of the exceptions to the visa exemption applies under Regulation 2018/1806 and a short-stay visa has been applied for under the Visa Code. ³ This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ

Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

Mauritania	
Morocco	
Niger	
Nigeria	
Pakistan	
Palestine ⁴	
Russian Federation	Applies to nationals of the Russian Federation
Rwanda	
Saudi Arabia	
Somalia	
South Sudan	
Sri Lanka	
Sudan	
Syria	
Tajikistan	
Tunisia	
Turkmenistan	
Uzbekistan	
Vietnam	
Yemen	

Category of persons	
Refugees	
Stateless Persons	

⁴ This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of the Member States on this issue.